

Collegiotes wave goodbye to officers.

## Theta Enters Ball State

## by Annabel Loren Young

A dream of many came true as Delta Sigma, Centennial chapter, became a reality in Muncie, Indiana, the state where Theta began in 1870. Who was the most elated as the 94th chapter was installed Sept. 26, 1970 on the campus of Ball State University? Was it the large group of alert alumnæ, eager to support a new chapter? —or was it the willing national officers and other Thetas who came from afar to help in the installation—or was it the starry-eyed new initiates for whom this was the fulfillment of a personal dream, begun in 1967?

All three groups were one, in fact, in happiness and sisterhood as the four-day series of installation events unfolded on the campus where a normal college, established in 1898, became Ball State University in 1965. Next in size now in Indiana to Indiana University and Purdue, the former Ball State Teachers College is a diversified and forward-looking institution of learning. There Theta joins 14 other sororities and 17 fraternities on the 812 acre campus.

Delta Sigma's forerunner, Kappa Theta Rho, was organized in October 1967, achieved local sorority status in May 1968, and became Delta Sigma pledge colony on April 6, 1970.

The impressive Loyalty service conducted Thursday evening, September 24, in the De-



Kappa Alpha Theta · Winter, 1970-1971



TOP: Food anyone? Central Office staff, still perking along beautifully even after duties in connection with installation, awaits refreshments. L., Dorothy Schulze Vaaler, r., Morjorie Beebe McAdams. Marie Anderson Fitz, Grand Council, is served by Marianne Taggart Bock, Muncie Alumnœ.

CENTER: Five presidents got tagether to talk Theta at the tea which closed installation. L. ta r., Barbara Walker Rupprecht, president, chapter's Adv. Bd.; Lois Walker Branam, Muncie Alumnæ Club; Louise Petering, collegiate chapter; Norma Anderson Jorgensen, national Theta; Mariam Moore Marrisan, chopter's Hause Corporation. (Note Mariam's "purple heart" awarded for persevering with broken arm!)



LEFT: Punch bawl was a gift to chapter fram national Theta; letters came from Theta chapters and friends as did maney on money tree (rear). Properly impressed were Grand Council members (front) Pat Fawell Prott, Wilma Burkart Metzger. Back, I. to r., Sue Papai, collegiate treas.; Ruth Bartlett Weir, installation chrm.; Jane Mottern Thamas, AP, Dist. 1.

OPPOSITE: L. to r., alumnæ, 1st raw: J. Young, J. Jacobs, C. Farlow, S. White, A. Powell, E. Siela, S. Mahoney. 2nd: L. Yanez, C. Crobill, L. Durocher, C. Ellison. Collegiates: L. Petering, B. McConnell, V. Scott. 3rd: J. Smith, B. Myers, M. Lawler, R. Coddington, N. Jurik, S. McGuire. 4th: B. Snelling, D. Barts, M. Bredesen, S. Papai, N. Gillis, S. Cookerly, J. Newman. Not present for picture taking: R. Scheffel, R. Hagen, S. Holmes, D. Robertson, R. Leet.

BELOW: L. to r., 1st row: N. Wonisch, C. Selke, J. Wolter, S. Cole, Brendo Staneking, S. Rhein, L. Smith. 2nd: B. Barnes, T. Miller, L. Thompson, J. Nichols, S. Tarok, Barbara Stoneking, J. Patterman. 3rd: S. Bailey, C. Whitsett, C. Little, C. Hagerman, N. Baasse, C. Anderson. 4th: E. Kish, D. Alm, C. Novy, C. Ebenhaltz, D. Thampson, D. Kile, V. Shives.



Kappa Alpha Theta · Winter, 1970-1971



Motte residence hall Theta suite by Norma Anderson Jorgensen, grand president, and Patricia Fowell Pratt, installing Council officer, began the installation weekend for which Ruth Bartlett Weir was alumnæ chairman. After opening the first of many lovely gifts to be received by the chapter, the soon-to-be initiates burst into song, a habit continued throughout the weekend. Their songs swelled as members of Butler University's Gamma chapter arrived Friday to assist in the initiation ceremonies held in the Presbyterian Church, next door to DeMotte Hall.

Tall black and gold kites with sparkling tails flanked the speakers' table at the festive Saturday evening banquet in the Cardinal Room of the BSU Student Center, where all details had been arranged by Joella Brice Voran, banquet chairman. Patricia Pratt lighted four gold candles to honor Theta's founders and Wilma Burkart Metzger, grand vice-president, introduced the many Thetas and guests. They included Sue Farrell Supple, college district president, who gave the Theta welcome; Louise Petering, Delta Sigma chapter president and Grand Convention's Centennial initiate, who gave the Theta response; Jane Mottern Thomas, alumnæ president, District I; Marie Anderson Fitz, Council member; Barbara Booher, Delta Sigma graduate student counselor, who read the many Thetagrams; Dr. William Bock, BSU faculty member, Theta husband and chapter co-sponsor, who brought University greetings and welcome; Dean of Women Martha Wickham; Diane Zimmerman, pledge colony adviser; Nancy Westphal, traveling secretary; and Norma Jorgensen who gave the loving cup apostrophe.

Later, the Charter service took place, bonding Delta Sigma to the other chapters.



It was like Christmas at BSU installation! L., chapter president Lou Petering opens more gifts. R., two happy Thetas walk away fram initiation held in Presbyterian Church. Sunday morning found all participants attending church services together and then conducting a model chapter meeting in the suite. On that sunny September afternoon, 150 guests from the college, community and other sororities and fraternities were welcomed at tea at the home of Mariam Moore Morrison. Mariam who has opened her home, close to the campus, to Thetas for many years, for this occasion had one arm in a black sling, decorated by a purple heart and bejeweled black kite, all gained when she fell in the "line of duty" of Theta installation preparations!

Delta Sigma initiates are:

ALUMNAE: Cynda Crabill, Lynn Ramsey Durocher, Charlotte Ellison, Cynthia Earnest Farlow, Julie Kirkpatrick Jacobs, Susan Mahoney, Arlene Powell, Elizabeth Nagel Siela, Susan Richardson White, Linda Yanez and Judy Young.

ACTIVE: Christine Ebenholtz, Sue Blacketer Holmes, LeNona Rae Thompson, *Crawfordsville*; Beth Ann McConnell, Christine Wysong Novy, Randa Louise Scheffel, *Fort Wayne*; Maude Ellen Bredesen, Nancy Anne Gillis, *Griffith*; Cheryl Ann Hagerman, Eva Maria Kish, Merileta Kay Lawler, Rhonda June Leet, Trela Ann Miller, Jane Leslie Newman, Judith Mary Patterman, Susan Irene Rhein, Victoria Lee Scott, *Indianapolis*; Barbara Stoneking, Brenda Stoneking, *Kokomo*; Carol Ann Whitsett, Jacqueline Jean Wolter, *Muncie*; Diane Barts, Susan Frances Papai, Nancy Jean Wonisch, *South Bend*.

Also Debra Marie Alm, New Paris; Carol Sue Anderson, Noblesville; Nancy Lynn Baasse, Hammond; Sandra Lee Bailey, St. Paul; Bonnie Barnes, Madison; Ruth Kay Coddington, Richmond; Susan Eileen Cookerly, Kendallville; Rebecca Lee Hagen, Morocco; Nancy Ann Jurik, Highland; Diana Sue Kile, Batesville; Chrystie Little, Boswell; Sandra Lynn McGuire, Westfield; Betsy Dott Myers, Kingman; Julie Ann Nichols, Huntington; Dana Jo Robertson, Brownstown; Cidney Ann Selke, Albany; Vicki Lynn Shives, Peru; Janet Louise Smith, Valparaiso; Linda Susan Smith, Thorntown; Brenda Kay Snelling, Waynetown, Sharon Ann Torok, Elkhart.

Out-of-state: Susan Kay Cole, Greenville, Ohio; Diane Louise Thompson, Antwerp, Ohio; Louise Ann Petering, Detroit, Mich. (initiated at convention).

Kappa Alpha Theta · Winter, 1970-1971