Dr. David Mullins, President
University of Arkansas

Virginia Edwards, President
Kappa Alpha Theta

Jane Clemons, Grand Council
Kappa Alpha Theta



NOW!

IT'S ARKANSAS

♦ Delta Nu of Kappa Alpha Theta made formal entry into the fraternity world in an inspiring and festive weekend, October 28 to 30, 1966.

This newest of Theta chapters is located at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville and is the ninth sorority to join this campus where Chi Omega was founded. The University, soon to celebrate its centennial year, has over 9,000 students and in addition to its fine scholarship record, claims fame for its Miss America winners and its All American Razorback football team.

Twenty-one college undergraduates and six alumnæ were initiated by Grand President Virginia Speidel Edwards and Council member Janice Richardson Schmuck. Alumnæ of Arkansas, long eager for a Theta chapter in this Ozark Mountain state, attended from Little Rock, Fort Smith, Mountain Home and points in neighboring Oklahoma.

Events included a banquet in the Student Union ballroom where Theta was welcomed to the campus by Dr. David Mullins, president of the University, and by Dr. Anne G. Thompson, dean of women. The University Panhellenic hosted the new initiates, alumnæ and friends at a tea on Sunday afternoon where many lovely gifts and flowers from Thetas and others were on display.

L. to r., back: Mory Thompson, Sarah Chessir, Jane Pickens, Mary Margoret Torak, Sally Trammell, Mory Hanthorn, Joyce Rutledge, Cindy Erwin, Nancy Curtsinger, Cheryl Kutz, Kathy Ogden, Pam Grissinger. Center: Shoron Heck, Susan Farley. Front: Patsy Mayer, Ann Splawn, Virginia Leysath, Rosemary Raymond, Diana Dandridge, Janis Geyer, Sylvia Spencer.

Winter 1966-6)





Girls get better acquainted with President Jinny Edwards (left), DP Louise Prettyman (center) and DP Marie Fitz.

Gamma Tau chapter of Theta from the University of Tulsa took the lead in performing the initiation service and Council member Jane Van Sickle Clemons was installation chairman. Executive Secretary Dorothy Schulze Vaaler and District XIII College and Alumnæ Presidents Marie Anderson Fitz and Louise Dallmeyer Prettyman were in attendance. Local alumnæ who headed the installation committees were Mary Hamilton Ackerman, Kappa, Kansas; Norma Dolley Kennedy, Alpha Theta, Texas; Janet Jackson Kruh, Alpha Iota, Washington-St. Louis; Ruth Ann Tolbert and Virginia Tolbert Fowler, Alpha Omicron, Oklahoma, and Phyllis Root Gilbert, Alpha Xi, Oregon.

Charter members of the chapter are: Sarah Chessir, Mesquite, Texas; Nancy Curtsinger, Prairie Grove, Ark.; Diana Dandridge and Kathleen Ogden, Muskogee, Okla.; Cynthia Erwin, Searcy, Ark.; Susan Farley, Lake Charles, La.; Janis Geyer, Ft. Worth, Texas; Pamela Grissinger, Kansas City, Mo.; Mary Hanthorn, Fort Smith, Ark.; Sharon Heck and Rosemary Raymond, Fayetteville, Ark.; Cheryl Kutz, Pine Bluff, Ark.; Virginia Leysath, Camden, Ark.; Patricia Mayer, Little Rock, Ark.; Jane Pickens, Pickens, Ark.; Joyce Rutledge, Smackover, Ark.; Sylvia Spencer, Maitland, Fla.; Ann Splawn, North Little Rock, Ark.; Mary Thompson, Daingerfield, Texas; Mary Margaret Torok,

Berryville, Ark.; Sally Trammell, DeQueen, Ark.

Alumnæ initiates are: Jeanne Douglas, Juliet Eaves, Patsy Hall, Joan Pace and Janet Wright of Fayetteville, Ark.; also Lucy Randall of Fort Smith, Ark.

Carol Spivey, Gamma Tau, Tulsa, is colonizer.



As national membership chairman, Janice Schmuck, at left, has special interest in new chapter, talks with charter members, I. to r., Sarah Chessir and Nancy Curtsinger about it.

Kappa Alpha Theta · Winter, 1966-1967



The Theta kite arrives at Arkansas.