A THETA

ithout de ward scho g for the rship rel standing ed during after year will help ard schol offers : nd attain

lk brawc

ving. We

adards of

t to guide

scholastic

om which

n success

ek vance of dicapped e Ameri

ll to our ask our

licapped,

to the ind probe able

ist Hanto serve

rt to our

al Obnysically ne doors zitizens, re physsternest prkers.

## New Chapters Are Installed at Texas Tech and Fresno

25-Year-Old Local at Texas Tech Becomes Gamma Phi Chapter

> By Callie Martin Chalk Lubbock Alumnæ Club

Gamma Phi, Theta's seventy-eighth chapter, was installed at Texas Technological College, Lubbock, Tex., the weekend of April 24-26. Forty-five College members and 77 alumnæ of Sans Souci, the 25-year-old local, were initiated, bring to a successful termination many years of hoping, planning and working by Soucis and local Thetas toward the establishment of nationals on the Tech campus and toward the affiliation of Sans Souci with Theta.

Mrs. James F. Crawford, Grand First Vice President; Mrs. C. Edward Brandriff, Grand Alumnæ Secretary; Mrs. Leo S. Garner, president of District XII, Mrs. Verne H. Maxwell, state chairman, and alumnæ from Dallas, Houston, Austin, Fort Worth, Amarillo, and Midland were in Lubbock for the ceremonies. College chapter delegates were Sara Lew Link of Alpha Theta, Sue Lowe of Beta Sigma, Phillis Williams of Alpha Omicron, Joan Zaloudek of Beta Zeta, and Sue Wilborn of Gamma Tau. Many other college Thetas accompanied these delegates, all of whom were of valuable as-

Out-of-town guests at the Gamma Phi installation included Theta officials and alumnæ throughout Texas.



Ha

DOL

Sar

silı

tor

Н

ÅΙ

TI.

па

## HERE ARE THE MEMBERS OF GAMMA PHI



Left to right, first row:
Kittie Hinchey, Jo Ann
Wheatley, Linda Yancy, Zoe
Merriman, Sandra Toombs,
Carol Collins. Second row:
Tommie Wharton, Elna Dunagan, Carolyn DeSpain, Marion
Nevitt. Third row: Betty Witt,
Nancy Hess, Ann Bondurant,
Virginia Bell, Joann Hamp.

Out-of-town guests at the Gamma Phi installation included Theta officials and alumnæ throughout Texas. Shown on page 21 are, left to right, Mrs. W. C. Washington, Austin; Mrs. W. D. Wood, Dallas; Mrs. Leo S. Garner, District President, Norman, Okla.; Mrs. Verne H. Maxwell, Dallas; Mrs. James R. Jeter, Dallas, and Mrs. H. M. Amsler, Houston. Second row: Mrs. Richard Browne, Dallas; Gayle Crownover, Amarillo; Mrs. Bryant Nowlin, Fort Worth; Mrs. C. Edward Brandriff, Grand Alumnæ Secretary, Hinsdale, Ill.; Mrs. James F. Crawford, Grand First Vice President, Norman, Okla.; Mrs. Sam Fisher, Houston, and Mrs. Terry Wilson, Midland.

sistance during initiation.

Activities began Friday night with pledge services in the home of Faye Underwood Prouty for out-of-town Souci alumnæ. Actives and local alumnæ had been pledged early in March. Pledging was followed by loyalty service.

Initiation began Saturday at noon and was completed at 3:00 a. m. Sunday. Among those initiated were two mothers and their daughters Mrs. J. Hooper Stiles and her daughter, Mrs. Edward L. Baker, jr., and Mrs. C. E. Wiginton and her daughter, Mrs. Allan G. Clayton.

A luncheon honoring the new initiates was held Sunday. Dorothy Wright Johnston was toastmistress. Dr. E. N. Jones, president of Texas Tech, welcomed the chapter. Other special guests were Mrs. Jones, James G. Allen, dean of student life, and Mrs. Allen, and Marjorie M. Neeley, dean of women.

Telegrams, letters, and flowers were acknowledged by Lucile Atkins Marquis, alumnæ dub



Left to right, front row: Sharlene Wall, Jeannine Brown, Nan Clayton, Charlotte Mathis, Jerry Reves. Second row: Ann Heatly, Mary Wiley, Shirley Chapman, Adrienne Bridges, Mary Beth Smith. Third row: Lola Petticolas, Pat Mansell, Kay Lynn Watson, Mary Batcheler, Wanda Roberts, Barbara Wilkes, Carolyn Taylor.

president, and gifts were received by Joanne Hampton, college chapter president, and Eleanor McCombie Chitwood, faculty advisor to Sane Sonci since its founding. Gifts included a silver punch bowl from Mrs. Sam Fisher, Houston; a silver tray from Mrs. H. M. Amsler, Houston; silver candelabra from the Houston Alumnæ chapter, a silver dish from the Austin Alumnæ chapter, serving pieces from Alpha Theta, a punch ladle from the Midland Alumnæ club and brass candelabra from the El Paso. Alumnæ club

After the luncheon, installation services for

Gamma Phi chapter were conducted. Following installation was the tea honoring new initiates.

Dorothy Wright Johnston was local installation chairman, and her committee chairmen were: Jean Smith Talbot, Norma Kelly Bartley, Ruth Overton Carlock, Callie Martin Chalk, Florie Wilson Clapp, Sammy Dunn, Katherine Klett Graham, Jane Ann Floyd Jackson, Mary Ellis Maedgen Key, Elouise Teppard Keyes, Lucile Atkins Marquis, Dorothy Walker Newman, Faye Underwood Prouty, Eunice Klett Shannon, and Nan Overton West.